Written by Gary Benoit on January 2, 2009



Slovakia Adopts the Euro

Slovenia, once a part of Yugoslavia (not technically a Soviet-bloc country) is the only other former communist country so far to adopt the Euro. Other former Soviet-bloc and Eastern European countries now belonging to the EU, however, are eager to follow Slovenia and Slovakia's lead. First up are Estonia and Lithuania, which plan to make the jump in 2010. Latvia, Poland, the Czech Republic, and Bulgaria are slated to follow suite in 2012. Hungary plans to go Euro in 2013, and Romania the year after that. Of the 11 remaining EU member states not on the Euro, only the United Kingdom, Denmark, and Sweden have no plans to adopt the European currency.





Subscribe to the New American

Get exclusive digital access to the most informative, non-partisan truthful news source for patriotic Americans!

Discover a refreshing blend of time-honored values, principles and insightful perspectives within the pages of "The New American" magazine. Delve into a world where tradition is the foundation, and exploration knows no bounds.

From politics and finance to foreign affairs, environment, culture, and technology, we bring you an unparalleled array of topics that matter most.



Subscribe

What's Included?

24 Issues Per Year Optional Print Edition Digital Edition Access Exclusive Subscriber Content Audio provided for all articles Unlimited access to past issues Coming Soon! Ad FREE 60-Day money back guarantee! Cancel anytime.