



Eight Republicans Vote With Democrats to Stop Mayorkas Impeachment

Representaive Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Ga.) introduced a resolution to impeach Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro Mayorkas after a human smuggler caused the deaths of himself, two Americans from her district, and six people on U.S. Highway 57 in Batesville, Texas.

Greene wrote in the resolution, "Alejandro Nicholas Mayorkas has engaged in a pattern of conduct that is incompatible with the laws of the United States," accusing Mayorkas of various high crimes and misdemeanors, including violating the Secure Fence Act of 2006. The resolution failed, as eight Republicans voted with Democrats to table the impeachment. Representative John Duarte (R-Calif.) told Axios he would not support an impeachment that "hasn't gone through regular order," stating, "we don't have time to waste" in light of the possible federal government shutdown on Friday. The eight Republicans who voted with Democrats are:

- Darrell Issa (R-Calif.)
- John Duarte (R-Calif.)
- Tom McClintock (R-Calif.)
- Ken Buck (R-Colo.)
- Patrick McHenry (R-N.C.)
- Virginia Foxx (R-N.C.)
- Mike Turner (R-Ohio)
- Cliff Bentz (R-Ore.)



AP Images Alejandro Mayorkas





Subscribe to the New American

Get exclusive digital access to the most informative, non-partisan truthful news source for patriotic Americans!

Discover a refreshing blend of time-honored values, principles and insightful perspectives within the pages of "The New American" magazine. Delve into a world where tradition is the foundation, and exploration knows no bounds.

From politics and finance to foreign affairs, environment, culture, and technology, we bring you an unparalleled array of topics that matter most.



Subscribe

What's Included?

24 Issues Per Year
Optional Print Edition
Digital Edition Access
Exclusive Subscriber Content
Audio provided for all articles
Unlimited access to past issues
Coming Soon! Ad FREE
60-Day money back guarantee!
Cancel anytime.